TERMS OF USE

This site uses cookies to provide a better user experience.

ALLOW THE USE OF COOKIES
ru
ru
Sanam Sayeh Afkan

About the artist

Sanam Sayeh Afkan was born in 1989 in Rasht, Iran. Lives and works in Tehran. Graduated with a Bachelor’s degree in Management from Payam Noor University of Gilan (Iran, 2013). Participant of the Istanbul Contemporary Art Fair (2022, 2023). Solo and group exhibitions have taken place in Iran and the United States.

Sanam Sayeh Afkan creates an atmosphere full of illusions and reveries. In the artist’s life-like paintings, her vibrant contrasting colors and collage of mismatching images produce an absurd, inverted world. The paintings lack a coherent narrative and integrity, which creates different interpretations of the plot and makes it impossible to predict its development. As in a dream, the viewer can unravel images and invent stories, exploring their own self. As the artist herself states: “The viewer finds themselves in a labyrinth of familiar and unfamiliar elements, suspended between dreams and reality, searching, trapped in a timelessness, silence and frozen collaged space.”

In her work, Sanam Sayeh Afkan applies the “stream of consciousness” approach, which was inspired by the multidimensional narrative structure in twentieth-century postmodern literature by writers such as Haruki Murakami, Paul Auster, Jorge Luis Borges and William Faulkner. The work on each painting begins with mental impressions, deep layers of memories, a selection of random images from magazines and news. The artist constructs continuous labyrinth-like structures out of them, unpredictable but interconnected.

Sanam Sayeh Afkan’s stylistics is formed under the influence of artists of different epochs, there are the dynamic graphics of the Japanese cartoonist Kawanabe Kyōsai of the Edo period of the XIX century, and emotional theatrical scenes of the Romantic era by Theodore Géricault of the XVIII-XIX centuries, and the American neo-expressionism of the second half of the XX century by David Salle, known for his collage method of work, which is the closest to the artist.

Selected solo exhibitions:
2021 “Labyrinth”. Bavan Gallery, Tehran
2020 “The cavity of memory – online viewing”. Bavan Gallery, Tehran

Selected group exhibitions:
2024 “Evocation Field”. Mey Gallery, West Hollywood, California, USA
2023 “Reoriented”. Mey Gallery, West Hollywood, California, USA
2023 “Sight and Insight: A place for Us”. Bavan Gallery, Tehran
2021 “There are no rules for connecting us”. Bavan Gallery (Online Exhibition), Tehran
2019 “Episode 04″. Mohsen gallery, Tehran
2018 Iranian painting expo. Tehran
2018 “Vista Prize Exhibition”. Vista Gallery, Tehran

Art fairs:
2023 Contemporary Istanbul Art Fair, Bavan Gallery booth, Istanbul
2022 Contemporary Istanbul Art Fair, Bavan Gallery booth, Istanbul
2021 JINGART Art Fair (Online Exhibition), Bavan Gallery
2020 Teer Art Fair (Online Exhibition), Bavan gallery booth
SELECTED WORKS
See all works

ПОЛЬЗОВАТЕЛЬСКОЕ СОГЛАШЕНИЕ

Этот сайт использует файлы cookies для более удобной работы пользователей с ним.

РАЗРЕШИТЬ ИСПОЛЬЗОВАНИЕ COOKIES
en
en
Санам Сайех Афкан

О художнике

Санам Сайех Афкан родилась в 1989 году в городе Рашт, Иран. Живет и работает в Тегеране, Иран. Получила степень бакалавра на факультете менеджмента в университете Пайаме Нур в провинции Гилян, Иран (2013). Участница ярмарки Contemporary Istanbul в Стамбуле (2022, 2023). Персональные и групповые выставки проходили в Иране и США. 

 

Санам Сайех Афкан создает атмосферу, полную иллюзий и грез. В реалистичной живописи художницы яркие контрастные цвета и коллаж несочетаемых образов создают абсурдный, перевернутый мир. В картинах отсутствует связное повествование и целостность, что создает различные варианты прочтения сюжета и не позволяет предсказывать его развитие. Как во сне, зритель может разгадывать образы и придумывать истории, исследуя самого себя. Как говорит сама художница: «Зритель оказывается в лабиринте из знакомых и незнакомых элементов, подвешенный между мечтами и реальностью, ищущий, пойманный в ловушку безвременья, тишины и застывшего коллажированного пространства».

 

В своем творчестве Санам Сайех Афкан использует метод «потока сознания», который был вдохновлен многомерной структурой повествования в постмодернистской литературе XX века таких писателей, как Харуки Мураками, Пол Остер, Хорхе Луис Борхес и Уильям Фолкнер. Работа над каждой картиной начинается с мысленных образов, глубоких слоев воспоминаний, подборки случайных изображений из журналов и новостей. Из них художница выстраивает непрерывные лабиринтные структуры, непредсказуемые, но взаимосвязанные.

 

Стилистика Санам Сайех Афкан сформирована под влиянием художников разных эпох, здесь и динамичная графика японского карикатуриста Каванабэ Кёсая эпохи Эдо XIX века, и эмоциональные театральные сцены эпохи романтизма Теодора Жерико XVIII–XIX веков, и наиболее близкий художнице американский неоэкспрессионизм второй половины XX века Дэвида Салле, известного своим коллажным методом работы.

Избранные персональные выставки:
2021 «Лабиринт». Bavan Gallery, Тегеран
2020 «Полость памяти - онлайн просмотр». Bavan Gallery, Тегеран

Избранные групповые выставки:
2024 «Пробуждение поля». Mey Gallery, Западный Голливуд, Калифорния, США
2023 «Переориентированный». Mey Gallery, Западный Голливуд, Калифорния, США
2023 «Взгляд и проницательность: Место для нас». Bavan Gallery, Тегеран
2021 «Нет правил, чтобы соединить нас» (онлайн-выставка). Bavan Gallery, Тегеран
2019 «Эпизод 04». Mohsen gallery, Тегеран
2018 Выставка иранской живописи. Тегеран
2018 "Vista Prize". Vista gallery, Тегеран

Ярмарки:
2023 Contemporary Istanbul Art Fair, Bavan Gallery, Стамбул
2022 Contemporary Istanbul Art Fair, Bavan Gallery, Стамбул
2021 JINGART Art Fair (онлайн), Bavan Gallery
2020 Teer Art Fair (онлайн), Bavan Gallery
ИЗБРАННЫЕ РАБОТЫ
Смотреть все произведения